And now, for something completely different. Actually, I’m not a joke


My score is in the most left hand column. I’ve scored better. But it’s matchlay and it’s the winning that counts.

Tonight I, the worst player at Dundas parks Golf Club, stood aside my opponent on the first tee, for my first round match in the club championships.

A lack of confidence did not pervade my opponent’s frame.

Me?  I have come last, stone last, in medals at Dundas Parks more often than any player in the club’s history.

I am officially.  A joke.

Not only that.

I am temperamental.

I lose heart easily.

And I am disappointing in many, many ways.

But my chums support me (especially the Rough Bros).  Good guys who just think it’s funny and know that I throw up the odd surprise.

Cue tonight.

My opponent, with a higher handicap than mine (I know, it’s hard to believe) probably knew how rubbish I am.

But in a  Dodgeball way I pulled it together.  But so did he.  He played to his handicap.  So I had to play under mine to undermine him.  Two under as it happens.

I won.

I am legend.

As Tom would say “I am Ninja.”  He was genuinely chuffed and that meant a lot.

2 thoughts on “And now, for something completely different. Actually, I’m not a joke

  1. well done Mark. Got mine on Friday – looking forward to it! who knows we might even cross paths eh! heres hoping 😉

    Like

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

