You don’t see many of these when I’m on the golf course.


The lesser spotted Eagle.

I’ve creamed a drive, smacked a sweet 3 wood to 70 yards and stand with a pitching wedge on the 2nd fairway at Dundas.  “Nice shot” my opponent shouts as I nip a sweet little wedge greenwards.  Two bounces and it drop off the pin into the hole.  After 35 years of waiting I finally shoot my first ever eagle.  I was pleased.  Ross my opponent high fives me and I go two up.

Two holes later, despite playing to five under my handicap I’m only one up. and at the turn it’s all square. Then I lose 10, 11, 12 and 13.  Four down with five to play.  But I dig deep and win 14and 15.  Disaster awaits on the 16th tee though and a hooked drive leads to a five.  It’s all over.  All I have to remember this round by is that elusive eagle.  But it’s a sweet one.

When I saw Tom at home  I asked him.  “How’d you play son?’

“Crap, but I eagled the first.”

Whatever.  He’s had about 10.

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

