The best musical experience of my life.


I’m 51.

I’ve been to a lot of gigs.

(I’ve been to Glastonbury  FFS.)

Twice.

I’ve seen the Rolling Stones (zzz).

I’ve seen Kraftwerk before (in about 1980 or so).

But tonight I saw the most sublime three hours of music that I have ever seen, heard, felt in my life.

If you don’t know Phoenix you need to.  Because they kick-started it.

phoenix

Try this (their opener tonight)

Now, imediately buy their album, Bankrupt, and while you’re at it join me in the queue to buy Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix because, I promise you, you will not regret it.

Phoenix fucking destroyed the King Tut tent tonight.

It was epic.

And then…

And then…

And then…

Dare we wish too much in case we jinxed it… came Kraftwerk.

I cannot even begin to describe the monumental wonderment that was Kraftwerk in a hot, sweaty tent in Balado, Perth and Kinrosshire.  It was simply the most perfect 90 minute set ever conceived.

This was their set list (thanks to Setlist.fm)

Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 00.20.55

I actually thought I would weep with joy at The Robots, Autobahn, Tour de France AND Radioactivity, all of which were breathtaking.

The 3D show was like, WTF, it’s a music festival, you can’t do a 3D gig.

Well, it transpires, YES YOU FUCKING CAN.

3d

See what I mean?

Did I mention I was on the barrier?

robots

To Ria Gorman all I can say is; thank you and I love you for buying me this ticket for my birthday.

You have no idea how happy you made me today.

A last word…

I was not a TITP advocate.  I’m too much of a Guardian reader for that but, you know what, TITP is really very good.  The Audience is much, much more music savvy/appreciative than Glasto.

Just sayin’.

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

