gibberish


My lifetime loathing of BA has reached an all time high.
October 2, 2013, 4:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

My travel arrangements today were always tight. 

I left central London at 2.05 to get the 3.55 to Glasgow from Heathrow and opted for the tube on the basis I was told 45 minutes to T5.  On getting on tube at 2.10 at Piccadilly the tube inspector confirmed this.

However, it actually took an hour and 5 mins as it crawled through the overground section.

I had checked in online and so only had to pick up my check in slip in departures, which I attempted at 2.20 – 2.25.

I was refused a pass being told I’d been “taken off the flight”.  After a 5 minute wait at customer services a surly faced lady informed me there was nothing I could do about it and would have to get the 6.05 flight instead (incidentally the business class ticket costs a preposterous £229).

There was NO, repeat NO, negotiation.

Anyway, I cleared security in 5 minutes and was at the gate at 3.45 (albeit with a boarding card for the wrong flight).  The flight was still boarding.

“Is there anything you can do to get me on this flight?”  I pleaded “As I am doing research groups in Glasgow at 6.30.”

“Computer says no!” was the response.

I realise I was between 0 and 5 minutes late for a check in that I was already checked into but I don’t understand why there was zero, and I mean zero, room for negotiation.

On taking up my case with customer services at the lounge I received smily sorrys “but that’s just the way it is.”

BA has always sucked.  It still sucks. 

Please do share this with your friends.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Should be an interesting class in Glasgow tonight.

Like

Comment by Robert Jeffery

It’ll be fine. When I told BA I’d lost a day’s income they just looked into the middle distance completely ignoring what I was saying. Computer says fucking NO.

Like

Comment by markgorman

Sorry mate, why did you need a “check-in slip” (presume you mean boarding card) if you had checked in on-line? Boarding card should have been on your phone…?

Like

Comment by Alistair Pryde

Someone checked in for me while I was away so didn’t have a boarding card. I had to type in a six figure code to retrieve my boarding card. That’s when “the computer first said no.”

Like

Comment by Anonymous

“someone checked in for me’?! holy fuck… what, you don’t need to subscribe to IATA rules?

Like

Comment by Alistair Pryde

1. You need to download the BA app so you don’t waste time at check in. You can even print your bag tags on line now, so no more queuing.

2. Never get the tube to LHR

3. It doesn’t matter what airline or who you are, once the flight closes typically 35 mins before hand they’ll give your seat to a standby passenger (possibly someone like you who may have missed an earlier flight)

4. Try getting a change of flight from any other airline – they’ll charge you a penalty and the difference in the fares.

5. Get the train?

Like

Comment by Johnny

You got the tube from central London at 2.10 but got to T5 2:20-2:25 ?…I don’t think so. You mean 3:25 ? T5 requires min 45min before flight departure.

Like

Comment by globalranger




Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

