Gravity.


gravity-dont-let-me-go

Oh come on!

This is a decent enough movie, I’ll give you that, but the outpouring of reverence over it is excessive.

It’s a chase movie in space.

In fact it’s Captain Philips in space (that too is somewhat over-rated).

I’m not going to go into great detail here because it would be too easy to spoil it for those of you who have yet to make up your own mind.

I saw it (on strong recommendation) on an iMAX screen.  (My first (and possibly last) such commercial exploitation.)

Sure, iMAX is bigger, and LOUDER.  But is it better?

Nope.

Anyway, back to Gravity.

Sandra Bullock puts in a very good shift, but Oscar worthy?  Surely someone in the movie PR world is having a laugh about that.

Buzz Lightyear provides solid support.

The star of the show though are the special effects.  It is brilliantly realised.  Stunningly.  Almost unimaginably so.

But that doesn’t make it engaging.

It is exciting from time to time.  But in between the exciting bits (whisper this) it’s a little bit boring.

Just a little bit.  But.  It. Is. A. Little. Bit. Boring.

But hey, go see it, make your own mind up.  What do I know?  I’m in the minority on this one and people who’s creative judgement I trust implicitly have raved about it.

But me and my better half just thought it was good (but a little bit boring).

(Just a little bit.)

2 thoughts on “Gravity.

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

