My favourite New York Street Art.


In the city of a thousand art galleries you don’t actually need to visit a gallery to enjoy world class art.  Here is a selection of my favourites that I have photographed over my last two visits.

There are many more.

I photographed this astounding Tristran Eaton portrait of Audrey Hepburn in Mulberry Street in Little Italy that he painted in 2013.  It prompted a special visit for me and Jeana on our recent trip to pay homage.  It’s my favourite street painting in the whole goddam city.

Audrey

This one isn’t far behind mind you.  It’s by Eduardo Korda and you can catch it from The High Line and is based on the iconic 1945 photograph “V-J Day in Times Square” by Alfred Eisenstaedt.

IMG_5711 large

And then there’s the Einstein, also on the High Line (but certainly modelled on) Banksy.

I loved this Joey Ramone painting at the entrance to Bleeker Street on The Bowery by John “Crash” Matos and Solus.

joey

And I’m a fan of this by Nick Walker called Love Vandal, you’ll find it above a car park at 17th and 6th Avenue.

I love

This one, four storeys high, also in Mulberry Street in Little Italy is called Terror Tot and was painted by Ron English.

baby Hulk

The following bunch are all in Williamsburgh…

IMG_6010

wish I was gaysm

IMG_5991sm

IMG_5996sm

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

