Evangelii gaudium bullshit. (Or, life in a land of relativistic subjectivism.)


Scan.jpg

I’m a pretty regular Catholic churchgoer.

It gives me a lot of challenges in my mixed up mind and the list of what’s wrong with the Catholic church would fill this blog from now to kingdom come (thy will be done) were I to put my mind to it.

Most of all (and we’ll not even go into child abuse and the horrors that we read about in that Irish convent last week) is its refusal to wake up to 21st century life, thinking, logic and relevance.

Yet still I go.  And get great community spiritual benefits from it.

However, it’s the sort of guff below that really sets my teeth on edge.

It’s a part of the Catholic Printing Press of Farnsworth’s weekly newsletter that is distributed in churches throughout the UK, to churchgoers of every level of intellect.

I’ve written over 2,000 posts on this blog so I think I’d count myself in, at least, the top 50% of the UK’s most literate/reasonably well read population.

But if anyone can explain to me why this sort of self important pomposity should be published to a church of mixed ability readers then I’d be interested.

(I showed it to a couple of my fellow parishioners last Sunday and they hadn’t a Scooby what it was on about.)

What does inculturating mean?

What does relativistic subjectivism mean?

What percentage of the population is aware what a pluralistic religious landscape means?

And what, to the ordinary Catholic, does Evangelii Gaudium mean anyway?

If it means Joy of the Gospel why not just call it Joy of the Gospel?

Get a bloody grip.