Jane Eyre: National Theatre and Bristol Old Vic on tour. Review.


image.jpg

My wife and I were not in the right frame of mind today and so a trip to the theatre this afternoon was neither top of our priorities nor particularly anticipated; but we’d bought the tickets.

I have two theatre mind sets.  Amateur and professional.  And it always disappoints me that professional theatre doesn’t get the emotional response that Amateur does.

That changed today with a standing ovation at The Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.

For this is a show that astounds in every way.  Sound, light, scenery, performance, music, movement and, above all else, direction.

We have a new superstar in British theatrical direction.

She is named Sally Cookson and she is miraculous.

Well, I say new, she’s been directing for Bristol Old Vic for over a decade.  But I knew her not.

This production is mouthwatering.  It’s eyeballing.  It is superb.

It brings a degree of women’s lib to a book (that I have not read) that is compelling and meaningful.  Maybe Bronte meant it that way Maybe Cookson just saw it that way.  Anyway it’s fucking brilliant.

Three hours that pass in a nanosecond.

The music, which draws from Penguin Cafe sequence style at one moment, to jazz at another and pop in a third is gobsmacking.

The sound design helps.

I wept at the the last line.  “It’s a girl.” Five times.

That is not a spoiler, but when you see it I hope you too are reduced to pulp.

My wife and I agree on much, disagree on many things, but both of us said (in a state of heightened emotion as we left the Festival Theatre) “that was the best experience I have ever had in a (professional) theatre.”

Theatrical perfection.

We will be going again to see it in Glasgow and I urge you to do likewise.

One thought on “Jane Eyre: National Theatre and Bristol Old Vic on tour. Review.

  1. Pingback: O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.

