All Of Us Strangers: Movie review

I so wish I liked this movie more. It’s gorgeous and thoughtful and wonderfully acted, by Andrew Scott in particular. It’s a touching subject about grief, loneliness, the act of coming out, death and suicide.

But I’m afraid it’s just really boring. It’s way too darkly shot – the cinema projector simply couldn’t cope with how black it is and consequently you could actually see the projector’s bulb fighting to get on top of the opaqueness of the subject matter. Clare Foy looked out of place and Paul Mescal must dream for a role that doesn’t require endless shagging.

I nodded off several times as Andrew Scott struggled with his endless, tiresome grief over the death of his parents (like 20 years ago FFS) who are actually still alive, or are they ghosts, or is it a dream?

Actually…who cares in the end. My wife wept a bit. I did not. And I’m a sap.

And the soundtrack is dull as ditchwater.

2 thoughts on “All Of Us Strangers: Movie review

Come on folks. Don't just sit there gawping. Say something. Get involved.